You cannot see this page without javascript.

The Connecticut Huskies men's basketball system would be the intercollegiate men's basketball group from the University of Connecticut, in Storrs, Connecticut. They at the moment play in the American Athletic Conference (The American) and are coached by Kevin Ollie.

The Huskies are one of several most thriving men's college basketball programs of all time. The Huskies have won four NCAA Tournament Championships (1999, 2004, 2011 and 2014), which puts the system at sixth-most all-time. The Huskies have also won seven Massive East Tournament Championships, ten Major East standard season titles and one American Athletic Conference Tournament Championship. Numerous players have gone on to achieve skilled good results right after their time at UConn, which includes Cliff Robinson, Ray Allen, Richard Hamilton, Kemba Walker, Ben Gordon, Emeka Okafor, Caron Butler, Jeremy Lamb, Andre Drummond, Shabazz Napier, and Rudy Gay. The Huskies have participated in 5 NCAA Final Fours (tied for 13th all time) and appeared in the NCAA tournament 33 times. The team has been a quantity one seed within the NCAA Tournament 5 occasions, most lately in 2009.

Men's basketball at UConn started in 1901 using a single game played by Connecticut Agricultural College against Windham Higher College in January of that year. The college team won, and by 1903 basketball was a varsity sport.

After graduating from the Connecticut Agricultural College, former player Hugh Greer returned to his alma mater as a freshman coach. He was later named head coach of the Huskies six games into the 1946¨C47 season. Greer led Connecticut to a perfect 12¨C0 mark for the remainder of his 1st season. Posting a record of 16¨C2, this was the most beneficial single season finish in college history to that point. UConn won twelve Yankee Conference titles below Greer in 16 completed seasons, such as ten consecutive titles from 1951¨C60. Greer also led UConn to its first seven NCAA berths and one NIT appearance when compiling an all round head coaching record of 286¨C112. Greer died of a heart attack in 1963, ten games into the 1962¨C63 season. He was replaced by assistant George Wigton, who led them towards the Elite Eight. Uconn Huskies Official Store men's basketball was a regional power under Greer, winning 12 Yankee Conference titles, such as 10 in a row from 1950 to 1960.

Throughout the 1960s and 70s, Connecticut remained a regional power, winning an further six Yankee Conference titles ahead of the conference dropped basketball in 1975 and earning several NCAA tournament berths. In 1979, UConn became one of many seven founding schools with the Big East Conference, which was developed to focus on basketball.

Prior to the 1986¨C87 season UConn hired Northeastern head coach Jim Calhoun to take over the program. Calhoun's very first group finished the season with a record of 9¨C19. In 1988, the team showed important improvement and gained a berth in the National Invitation Tournament. UConn went on a run within the tournament and defeated Ohio State 72¨C67 at Madison Square Garden to win the NIT, the school's initial national basketball title.

The 1990 "Dream Season" would bring UConn basketball back to the national stage. Led by Chris Smith, Nadav Henefeld, Scott Burrell, Tate George, and John Gwynn, UConn went from unranked within the preseason to winning the Big East Normal Season and Tournament Championships, both for the initial time. 1990 also marked the opening of Gampel Pavilion, the program's new on-campus residence. In the NCAA Tournament the Huskies garnered a #1 seed within the East Area, but trailed Clemson 70¨C69 with 1 second remaining inside the Sweet 16. Burrell's full-court pass located Tate George around the far baseline. George spun, fired, and hit a buzzer-beater that's known in Connecticut merely as "The Shot". They will be eliminated on a buzzer-beater 2 days later by Duke, losing in overtime 79¨C78.

Exterior view of Gampel Pavilion
UConn continued to rise as a national system throughout the 1990s, winning five additional Huge East Standard Season and 3 more Large East Tournament Championships, also as reaching quite a few regional finals. The Final 4 nevertheless eluded Calhoun plus the system until the 1999 NCAA Tournament. With Richard "Rip" Hamilton top the way, they claimed the program's initial national title that similar year. Calhoun's teams would go on to win two extra national championships for the duration of his tenure at UConn.

Calhoun was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2005, and officially announced his retirement in September 2012.

Immediately after the breakup of the old Major East in 2013, UConn remained as a member with the American Athletic Conference, the legal successor towards the original conference. It truly is as a result the only charter member on the original Major East still playing in that conference.

Kevin Ollie was hired as UConn's men's basketball coach shortly just after Calhoun's retirement. During his initially season, the Huskies record was 20¨C10. That year the Huskies have been banned from postseason play by the NCAA due to the fact of a low APR score in 2010.[2] In Ollie's second season, the team created the NCAA tournament. On March 30, 2014, Ollie became the first UConn coach apart from Jim Calhoun to lead the Huskies to a Final Four. They won the Men's NCAA tournament on April 7, 2014, defeating the University of Kentucky 60¨C54. His group was the very first #7 seed to ever win the NCAA tournament. Ollie led Connecticut for the American Athletic Conference tournament championship and an additional NCAA tournament appearance in 2015-16. The Huskies defeated Colorado 74-67 within the Second Round but have been eliminated by the Kansas Jayhawks 73-61 within the third round in the tournament.