You cannot see this page without javascript.

The Connecticut Huskies men's basketball plan may be the intercollegiate men's basketball group in the University of Connecticut, in Storrs, Connecticut. They currently play inside the American Athletic Conference (The American) and are coached by Kevin Ollie.

The Huskies are among the list of most profitable men's college basketball programs of all time. The Huskies have won four NCAA Tournament Championships (1999, 2004, 2011 and 2014), which puts the plan at sixth-most all-time. The Huskies have also won seven Major East Tournament Championships, ten Massive East common season titles and a single American Athletic Conference Tournament Championship. Numerous players have gone on to achieve expert results right after their time at UConn, including Cliff Robinson, Ray Allen, Richard Hamilton, Kemba Walker, Ben Gordon, Emeka Okafor, Caron Butler, Jeremy Lamb, Andre Drummond, Shabazz Napier, and Rudy Gay. The Huskies have participated in five NCAA Final Fours (tied for 13th all time) and appeared inside the NCAA tournament 33 instances. The group has been a number 1 seed inside the NCAA Tournament five occasions, most recently in 2009.

Men's basketball at UConn began in 1901 with a single game played by Connecticut Agricultural College against Windham High School in January of that year. The college group won, and by 1903 basketball was a varsity sport.

Immediately after graduating from the Connecticut Agricultural College, former player Hugh Greer returned to his alma mater as a freshman coach. He was later named head coach of the Huskies six games in to the 1946¨C47 season. Greer led Connecticut to an ideal 12¨C0 mark for the remainder of his initial season. Posting a record of 16¨C2, this was the most effective single season finish in college history to that point. UConn won twelve Yankee Conference titles below Greer in 16 completed seasons, which includes ten consecutive titles from 1951¨C60. Greer also led UConn to its initially seven NCAA berths and 1 NIT look whilst compiling an all round head coaching record of 286¨C112. Greer died of a heart attack in 1963, ten games into the 1962¨C63 season. He was replaced by assistant George Wigton, who led them to the Elite Eight. UConn men's basketball was a regional power under Greer, winning 12 Yankee Conference titles, such as ten within a row from 1950 to 1960.

All through the 1960s and 70s, Connecticut remained a regional energy, winning an added six Yankee Conference titles just before the conference dropped basketball in 1975 and earning a number of NCAA tournament berths. In 1979, UConn became one of several seven founding schools from the Big East Conference, which was produced to focus on basketball.

Prior to the 1986¨C87 season UConn hired Northeastern head coach Jim Calhoun to take over the program. Calhoun's first team finished the season with a record of 9¨C19. In 1988, the team showed substantial improvement and gained a berth within the National Invitation Tournament. UConn went on a run in the tournament and defeated Ohio State 72¨C67 at Madison Square Garden to win the NIT, the school's first national basketball title.

The 1990 "Dream Season" would bring UConn basketball back for the national stage. Led by Chris Smith, Nadav Henefeld, Scott Burrell, Tate George, and John Gwynn, UConn went from unranked inside the preseason to winning the Significant East Normal Season and Tournament Championships, both for the very first time. 1990 also marked the opening of Gampel Pavilion, the program's new on-campus house. Inside the NCAA Tournament the Huskies garnered a #1 seed in the East Region, but trailed Clemson 70¨C69 with 1 second remaining in the Sweet 16. Burrell's full-court pass discovered Tate George around the far baseline. George spun, fired, and hit a buzzer-beater that is recognized in Connecticut basically as "The Shot". They could be eliminated on a buzzer-beater 2 days later by Duke, losing in overtime 79¨C78.

Exterior view of Gampel Pavilion
Uconn Huskies Official Store continued to rise as a national program throughout the 1990s, winning five more Large East Standard Season and 3 far more Huge East Tournament Championships, as well as reaching numerous regional finals. The Final 4 still eluded Calhoun and also the system until the 1999 NCAA Tournament. With Richard "Rip" Hamilton major the way, they claimed the program's initially national title that similar year. Calhoun's teams would go on to win two a lot more national championships in the course of his tenure at UConn.

Calhoun was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2005, and officially announced his retirement in September 2012.

After the breakup of the old Huge East in 2013, UConn remained as a member with the American Athletic Conference, the legal successor towards the original conference. It can be therefore the only charter member with the original Major East still playing in that conference.

Kevin Ollie was hired as UConn's men's basketball coach shortly soon after Calhoun's retirement. For the duration of his 1st season, the Huskies record was 20¨C10. That year the Huskies had been banned from postseason play by the NCAA because of a low APR score in 2010.[2] In Ollie's second season, the team made the NCAA tournament. On March 30, 2014, Ollie became the very first UConn coach besides Jim Calhoun to lead the Huskies to a Final 4. They won the Men's NCAA tournament on April 7, 2014, defeating the University of Kentucky 60¨C54. His team was the very first #7 seed to ever win the NCAA tournament. Ollie led Connecticut towards the American Athletic Conference tournament championship and a different NCAA tournament look in 2015-16. The Huskies defeated Colorado 74-67 within the Second Round but were eliminated by the Kansas Jayhawks 73-61 in the third round on the tournament.